Top students vie for Auckland case competition trophy

03 February 2010

Handpicked university students from across the world will converge on Auckland this week to take part in a scavenger hunt and traditional Kiwi beach day before competing for the third annual Champions Trophy Case Competition.

Twelve global teams from internationally renowned universities in places such as California, Florida, Melbourne and Singapore will take part in the event, held at The University of Auckland Business School and fiercely competed for since its inception in 2008.

Showcasing the best case competition teams from around the world, the contest offers entrants several business cases and asks them to develop strategies and prepare presentations within five hours to deliver to a panel of expert judges.

“These are some of the highest calibre case competition teams in action, and the competition is very similar in flavour and pressure to television programme The Apprentice,” the Business School’s Student Development Director Brendon Potter says.

“We always get the crème de la crème of case competition teams from throughout the world coming to this event, and 2010 is looking particularly exciting. There are four teams from Singapore alone, which indicates the high regard with which those universities and business schools hold this particular competition.”

A Long Bay beach day today will precede the start of the competition tomorrow, running each day through to Saturday, when the final event will be held at the Business School. All contests are open to the public, and Mr Potter says the opportunity to see some of the world’s best business brains in action should not be wasted.

“It is often breathtaking to see what these students come up with in just five hours,” he says.

“The oldest member of The University of Auckland team, for example, is 21 years of age, so it is thrilling to watch these committed students compete against colleagues from around the world. We are definitely hoping for a Kiwi triumph this year.”

Universities competing this year include South California, Nanyang, Chulalongkorn, Maastricht, Singapore Management University, Hong Kong, Singapore, Navarra, Melbourne, Florida and British Columbia, as well as Auckland.

The University won the inaugural competition in 2008, but missed out to a Singaporean team last year.