People

ILT is led by Professor Susan Geertshuis, the Business School’s Director of Learning and Teaching.

Susan Geertshuis BA(hons), PhD, AFBPS, CPsychol, PFHEA, FHERDSA
Director of Learning and Teaching
Professor of Lifelong Learning

Susan is the Director of Learning and Teaching in the Business School and leads the Innovative Learning and Teaching Team (ILT). She is Professor of Lifelong Learning and a member of the Graduate School of Management. Her research interests are in learning, teaching, student employability and change in higher education.

Email: s.geertshuis@auckland.ac.nz

 

Dr Nabeel Albashiry BEd, MSc, PhD
Professional Teaching Fellow
Learning and Instructional Design

Nabeel coordinates the priority courses and learning design support that ILT offers to courses at the Business School. This includes course (re)design, improving the validity and reliability of course assessment, developing and mapping learning outcomes, utilising Canvas functions, and advising on student engagement.

Email: n.albashiry@auckland.ac.nz

 

Anton de Bruyn BCom(hons)
Project Coordinator

Anton is learning and teaching project coordinator in ILT. He is involved in ILT’s communications, project coordination, events, and is also PA to the Director of Learning and Teaching.

Email: a.debruyn@auckland.ac.nz

 

Sally Eberhard BA/BCom, PGDipCom
Professional Teaching Fellow
Digital Learning Specialist

Sally’s role involves working with academic staff in their use of learning technologies for courses within the Business School.

Email: s.eberhard@auckland.ac.nz

 

Sue Gough BA, DipTchg
Language Tutor

Sue provides language and academic skills support to a diverse range of students in the Business School. 

Email: s.gough@auckland.ac.nz

 

Shireen Junpath BA, MEd(hons) PGDipTESOL
Professional Teaching Fellow
Communications and Academic Skills

Shireen provides academic and literacy skills support to a diverse undergraduate and postgraduate student body in the Business School. 

Email: s.junpath@auckland.ac.nz

 

Narissa Lewis BMS(hons), MEd, SFHEA
Professional Teaching Fellow
Learning and Instructional Design

Drawing on her expertise in blended and online learning, Narissa collaborates with staff to create engaging and authentic learning experiences. She works with academic staff in the Business School and from other institutions as the learning design lead for two collaborative national projects.

Email: narissa.lewis@auckland.ac.nz

 

Odette Murdoch BA, DipTchg, PGDipEd, MSC(ITE)
Professional Teaching Fellow
Capability and Multimedia Specialist

Email: o.murdoch@auckland.ac.nz

 

Mark Smith MA, ASB, SFHEA
Professional Teaching Fellow
Learning and Teaching

Mark manages the professional development initiatives within the Faculty. He executes learning innovations and learning project plans, works with learning technologies and devises innovative professional development and learning acceleration programmes.

Email: mark.smith@auckland.ac.nz